Final essay

June 10, 2008

Final reflections on Podcasting for Business.

To answer, in a word, the classic class evaluation question:” What did I get out of this class?

Demystification.

I entered the class as a social-media knuckle-dragger, with nothing more evolved than a whispy presence on LinkedIn. A skeptic who’s been watching the blogisphere pass me by, while I wondered, Who has time to write all these blogs, and especially, who has time to read them?

I asked the same questions about podcasting, but that medium has always had more natural appeal for me.  Podcasting looked like more fun than blogging, surely because I write for a living. Whenever I’ve previously contemplated blogging, my first thought was that the last thing I needed was another rapidly looping writing deadline.  Podcasting at least involved audio recording, something I’ve done for fun in the past and at which I have some proficiency.  But the obstacle to tackling a podcast until now has been that rapidly looping deadline, because the essential characteristic of both the blog and the podcast is regularity.

It turned out to be quite illuminating for me to simultaneously tackle the group podcast and my personal podcast. A fundamental discipline of my profession —  advertising — is to try to make every pixel of communication speak to what the customer wants, in the effort to position the widget I’m flogging as the thing that can satisfy that want.  Our group podcast, the South Lake Union walking tour, effectively had two audiences: Vulcan Real Estate, to whom we’d theoretically be pitching the project, and the prospective tenants, businesses and visitors to the neighborhood who would be consuming the end-product podcasts.

While our proposal necessarily involved an evaluation of the feasibility of producing the concept on a regular basis, our primary focus was on satisfying the wants of Vulcan and their prospects.

I initially approached the personal podcast with the question: What does my potential audience want? What could I do that could possibly acquire a listenership? My first inclination was to do the obvious attempt at “thought leadership”: a business podcast about the business of advertising.  I’d found a few ad podcasts out there while surfing the podcast ocean, but none that I’d listened to more than once. Yes, I could do better, I believed.

Then came the real question:

Even if I could do better, will I want to do it again and again and again?  Hell no! It will quickly become the relentlessly looping deadline I dread.  I’ll be the mailman eternally going for a walk on my day off.

I realized that, for once, I had the opportunity to say “The audience be damned.” This being the early, wild-west days of podcasting, the audience is nothing more than a concept. Podcasters have the precious luxury of being able to fail with abandon until an audience finds them.  Production and distribution of the product are dirt cheap — an unprecedented creative advantage in the history of multimedia.  Podcasters, whether focused on personal or business objectives, can pay most of their attention to developing a concept that meets the essential prerequisite of podcasting, which also pertains to blogging:

Will I want to do this again and again and again?

If a podcaster can’t answer that question emphatically in the affirmative, all other criteria are irrelevant.  Without sustainable, core enthusiasm for the concept and the process, no amount of discipline will prevent the podcast from succumbing to creative fatigue.  Like the untold numbers of zombie blogs out there that haven’t been refreshed for months, a podcast undertaken with more consideration for the potential audience than for the soul of the podcaster is doomed to be abandoned, like the puppy that seemed like a good idea at the time but soon started snarling at the kids.

Another agreeable characteristic of podcasts over blogs is that they are just enough trouble to produce that I’d never be tempted to churn out “podtent” they way many bloggers feel compelled to spew forth regular content, whether they have something worth posting or not.  The effort required for podcasting is a gatekeeper of sorts. This may explain why I always feel more optimistic about what I’m about to hear when I click on a new podcast than I do when I look at a new blog.

The production hurdle is also just high enough that it has sobered me up from the initial enthusiasm I had for recommending podcasts to my clients.   What was I thinking?  I can barely stay awake through a meeting with this guy, and I was going to recommend that I produce a bi-weekly podcast with him as the star.

The ultimate upside of demystification is realism. I’m confident that I will produce a business podcast for a client any day now.  And quite confidant that, when I do get around to it, I’ll still be producing it six months later.


Personal Podcast

June 10, 2008

Terry Short’s Podcast Proposal

Podcast Title:
The Delacourte Report

Categories:
Entertainment, Comedy, Humor, News, Current Events.

Concept Summary:
The Delacourte Report is a personality-based perspective on the news, taking pages from predecessors as diverse as Paul Harvey and Steven Colbert. The podcast is hosted by ostensible newsperson, T.R. Delacourte (as played by myself) and features both sober and humorous commentary on news and topical events, spoof news items a la SNL’s Weekend Update and Leno/Letterman monologues, interviews with real and fictional newsmakers, and topical songs, a la Tom Lehrer and “That Was the Week That Was,” the topical satirical show of the 1960s.

T.R. Delacourte is a news personality who, not unlike Steven Colbert, straddles a fine line between dead-serious and over-the-top to make listeners wonder, “Is this guy for real?” and “Did he really do that did he make it up?” For example, the pilot podcast concludes with Delacourte playing what he says is a song by a Folklife busker that he recorded, and then purchased all rights to by tossing a dollar in the busker’s guitar case. As it’s recorded here, most listeners will figure out that the premise is a ruse before the song is over, but the “is this for real” ambiguity could be exploited with all of the podcast’s segments, from the news headlines to the interviews.

Objective:
Initial objective is to use The Delacourte Report as a showcase for my creative capabilities and feature it on my soon-to-be overhauled advertising portfolio site at http://www.cornerofficecom.com. I would be credited as “Writer/Producer,” and would aim to make it a fun point of engagement with prospective clients, who, I’d expect would quickly figure out that T.R. Delacourte is my alter ego. Any blue-sky objectives beyond this, e.g., sponsorships, content licensing, commissions to write a topical musical with Andrew Lloyd Webber, etc. will not be entertained until I have at least a dozen episodes in the can.

Target Audience:
News and current events junkies of all ages and ideologies. A potentially good audience is adolescent and teen-aged males who read Mad Magazine and who might be a very receptive and viral audience for the topical songs.

Promotional Campaign
Initial strategy is to link The Delacourte Report to the primary podcast hubs, guides and communities such iTunes, Podcast.com, Podcast Alley, etc. By including a content summary or excerpts in the show notes featuring names and events in the news, and with proper tagging, I hope to have some SEO success. Homerun attempts would be to get it featured on the NY Times Laughlines http://laughlines.blogs.nytimes.com and mentioned in the Huffington Post. A second-tier campaign would be to actively comment on news-related blogs. The podcast also gives me a good incentive to more aggressively promote my portfolio site where the podcast will be prominently featured.

Concept Viability and Production Challenges:
A bi-weekly production schedule is ambitious but achievable and, I believe, the minimum frequency for a topical news podcast of any stripe. A length of 4 to 6 minutes with at least 4 rotating features (news headlines, commentary, interviews and topical songs), would be a flexible format that would prevent what I suspect is a frequent podcast-killing mistake: format rigidity that results in the producer growing bored, burdened and uninspired.

The obvious challenge with this concept is quality control: being consistently entertaining, with the added challenge of maintaining non-wince-provoking production values for the musical and interview components.

I undertake it while being fully mindful of the theatrical axiom: “Satire is what closes on Saturday night. “

Link to The Delecourte Report

(Creative Commons license on site)